Important Political Developments

12 NPF legislators resign
Two ministers, five parliamentary secretaries and four MLAs who were either advisors or chairmen of different government sector undertakings have resigned from their respective portfolios. The 11 NPF legislators in their resignation letters addressed to Chief Minister TR Zeliang today said they have reigned from their respective portfolios with immediate effect.

The reason gave by them was same which read “Since the majority of the NPF and DAN legislators have elected Kaito Aye as the new leader of NPF Legislature Party and since you no longer enjoy the support and confidence of the Members of the House, I hereby tender my resignation as Minister, Parliamentary Secretary, Advisor, Chairman with immediate effect”.

The NPF legislators who resigned are Noke Konyak – Minister for PHE, Benjongliba – Minister for Agriculture, Torechu – Parliamentary Secretary for Housing and Excise, Er. Kropol Vitsu – Parliamentary Secretary Printing & Stationery and Art & Culture, Dr. Longriniken – Parliamentary Secretary Labour and Employment, Deo Nukhu – Parliamentary Secretary for Higher Education, Namri Nchang – Chairman NIDC & NHHDC, Dr. Neiphrezo Keditsu – Chairman APMC, EE Pangteang – Advisor Tourism, Merentoshi R Jamir – Advisor SIRD & Chairman NSNDC and Naiba Konyak – Adviser NEPED & NBHM.

DAN coordination committee meets
A press note from the Secretary, DAN coordination committee, KG Kenye informed that the committee held a meeting which was attended by its Chairman; NPF Secretary General KG Kenye; President Nagaland BJP, M Chuba Ao; General Secretary, Nagaland BJP, K James Vizo; President JD(U) Nagaland, Mhonjan Lotha; member JD(U) Nagaland, K Yimso and acting president, NCP; TL Semdok.

“Taking into account the serious ramifications of the internal crisis in the NPF that will take a heavy toll on the developmental priorities for the state, the DAN partners urge for immediate settlement of the intra-party crisis,” stated the press note. It further noted that the “continuance and intensification of the crisis in the NPF will not only bring deleterious consequences on the NPF, but will spell doom on the full tenure of the current Assembly thereby inviting the avoidable President’s Rule which Nagas detest.”
CM cautions against ‘cheap propaganda’.

Azo becomes ‘Chief Whip’
Imkong Imchen, spokesperson of Kaito camp informed that Kaito Aye has appointed Kuzholuzo Neinu (Azo) as chief whip of the NPF legislature party in the assembly and therefore, the continuance of Kiyanilie as chief whip “stands cancelled with immediate effect”. Further, the appointment of Kuzholuzo as NPF legislature chief whip was also communicated to the Governor and Speaker.

Dr. TM Lotha is BJP legislature party leader
BJP Legislature Party meeting January 7 attended by the four legislators unanimously elected Dr. T M Lotha as the BJP Legislature party leader and Mmhonlumon Kikon as the Chief whip.